Katy Area EDC accepting nominations for Stan C. Stanley “Eagle” Leadership and Economic Development Awards

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Main News Photo

In March of 2016, the Katy area community lost a beloved leader and community member in Mr. Stan C. Stanley.  Stan was known throughout the Katy area for his big heart and volunteerism through numerous organizations such as the Boys Scouts of America, Katy Area Economic Development Council and Katy ISD.  To honor his contributions and lasting legacy, the Katy Area EDC created the Stan C. Stanley “Eagle” Leadership and Economic Development Award.

The annual award, which is in its third year, recognizes a volunteer in the Katy area who has made contributions in leadership and economic development to the Katy area.  All persons volunteering (non-paid positions only) in the Katy area are eligible for nomination.  The award winner will be selected by a committee assembled by the Katy Area EDC based on criteria including but not limited to, years of service, leadership skills demonstrated, special achievements, and qualities Stan so greatly exhibited such as being faithful, conscientious, unselfish and committed to the Katy area community.

Additionally, a second category recognizes a Katy area elected official.  The nominee for this category must have several years serving in a capacity as an elected official with a proven track record of contributing to community development and/or economic development.  The nominee must also exhibit faithful, conscientious, unselfish and helpful service with strong leadership skills.

Both award categories will recognize individuals for contributions within the Katy area.  The elected official nominee must be currently elected for all or part of the time period of September 30, 2017 through October 1, 2018.

Last year, Bill Callegari (volunteer) and Texas State Representative Dr. John Zerwas (elected official) were the winners of the Stan C. Stanley “Eagle” Leadership and Economic Development Awards.  Callegari and Zerwas was selected from a pool of award finalists.  You can find more information on last year’s winners here.  In 2016, the first year of the award, Stan Goss was the winner.

Nomination forms can be accessed here.  The nomination process is now underway and all submissions must be submitted by Friday, January 11.  Forms can be submitted via email to info@katyedc.org, mailed to PO Box 970, Katy, TX 77492 or dropped off at the Katy Area EDC office, 2002 W. Grand Parkway North, Suite 220, Katy, TX 77449.  

For questions, please call 281-396-2200 or email Lance LaCour at lancelacour@katyedc.org.

Category: (none)