Kramer, Mann Jr. named winners of Stanley Awards at January Katy Area EDC GA meeting

Kramer, Mann Jr. named winners of Stanley Awards at January Katy Area EDC GA meeting Main Photo

28 Jan 2020

One of the Katy area’s newest hotels, Aloft Katy, hosted the January Katy Area Economic Development Council General Assembly meeting on Tuesday, January 21. The event featured the unveiling of the winners of the Fourth Annual Stan C. Stanley “Eagle” Leadership and Economic Development Awards. 

With well over 100 people in attendance, Marshall Kramer (elected official) and Woody Mann Jr. (volunteer) were named the winners of the prestigious Stanley Awards. Kramer is currently the elected Board President of Harris County ESD #48 and Mann Jr. serves as President of Vista Equities Group and Senior Vice President of Vista Management Company. 

Both men have been heavily involved with Katy Area EDC with Kramer serving on the Executive Committee of Katy Area Districts Council, and Mann Jr. being a founding member of Katy Area EDC and past Board Chairman.  

Kramer (second from left) was nominated by Rick Lawler and nominating Mann Jr. (third from right) was Dick Phillips. 

The Stanley Awards were created to recognize an elected official and volunteer in the Katy area that have made contributions in leadership and economic development.  Selections were made by a committee of Katy area leaders.  All Katy area residents were eligible and selected based on criteria including but not limited to, years of service, leadership skills demonstrated, special achievements, and qualities Stan so greatly exhibited such as being faithful, conscientious, unselfish and committed to the Katy area community. 

“Both of these individuals exemplify qualities of our dear friend Stan including their commitment to the Katy area and our organization,” said Katy Area EDC President/CEO Lance LaCour. 

During the meeting, Katy Area EDC announced its 2020 Executive Committee which includes Chair Rick Lawler (President/CEO, E.M.A. Solutions), Vice Chair Paul Kurt (Owner, Kurt & Associates PC), Treasurer Yvonne Kershner (President/CEO, Brazos Valley Schools Credit Union), Secretary Caroline Champion (Director, Methodist West Houston Hospital), Past Chair Woody Mann Jr. (President of Vista Equities Group and Senior Vice President of Vista Management Company), and At Large Members Dan Boggio (President/Partner, PBK Architects), Robert Gilpin (Assistant Director Ambulatory Services, Texas Children’s Hospital - West Campus), Mark Gehringer (Bridgeland Development, The Howard Hughes Company - Bridgeland) and Gwen Wagner (Economic Development, CenterPoint Energy). 

Several individuals were also recognized for their service to the organization on the Executive Committee including Bob Chalker (Executive Committee 2015-2019, Board of Governors), Dick Phillips (Executive Committee 2018-2019, Board of Governors), Heath Rushing (Executive Committee 2019, Board of Governors), Paul Kurt (Executive Committee Treasurer 2015-2019, Board of Governors), Kent Rosenberger (Executive Committee Vice Chairman 2016-2019, Secretary 2018-2019, Board of Governors), Stan Goss (Executive Committee 2018-2019, Leadership Committee Chair 2012-2019, Talent Committee Chair 2012-2017, Board of Governors) and Woody Mann Jr (Board of Governors Chairman 2006-2019). These individuals have committed substantial time and effort in service of Katy Area EDC and the entire community in a variety of capacities.  

New members introduced at the meeting included Associate members Aloft Katy, Assured Flow Solutions and Satterfield and Pontikes Construction Inc. Members recognized for renewal were CenterPoint Energy, Fort Bend County Commissioners Court and Rosenberger Construction at the Board level along with Strategic Partner Katy Ranch Crossing. Associate members D.L. Meachem Construction, Fort Bend County, Gallagher, Guaranty Bank and Trust, Home 2 Suites by Hilton, Powers Brown Architecture, Remedy Roofing, Watercrest at Katy and Whiting-Turner were also acknowledged. 

Aloft Katy served as the host and breakfast sponsor for the event. 

For more information on Katy Area EDC and how to become a member, please contact Angie Thomason,, or visit