Katy Area News
  • TEDC Presents Economic Excellence Recognition at 2017 Mid-Year Conference

    June 14, 2017
    Release by Texas Economic Development Council

    The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) has announced the recipients of its annual Economic Excellence Recognition program for 2016. The awards was presented at a special awards breakfast held Thursday, June 8, 2017, at the TEDC’s Mid-Year Conference in Plano, Texas. The two and one half-day conference was held June 7-9, 2017 at the Marriott Legacy Town Center Hotel.

    The Economic Excellence Recognition program provides recognition to economic development organizations that meet a desired threshold of professionalism. Recipients qualify for recognition based on training taken by their governing board/council as well as the economic development director and professional staff. Certifications, professional memberships and activities, and organizational effectiveness of the economic development staff also contribute to the standards for qualification.

    The following thirty-three organizations received the 2016 Economic Excellence Recognition:

    Athens Economic Development Corporation, Bastrop Economic Development Corporation, Bowie Economic Development Corporation, Cedar Hill Economic Development Corporation, City of Balch Springs, City of Farmers Branch, City of Mesquite, City of North Richland Hills, Converse Economic Development Corporation, Cuero Development Corporation, Decatur Economic Development Corporation, Denison Development Alliance, Greater Houston Partnership, Greater San Marcos Partnership, Greenville Board of Development, Hutto Economic Development Corporation, Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation, Katy Area Economic Development Council, Kendall County Economic Development Corporation, Kilgore Economic Development Corporation, Lubbock Economic Development Alliance, Marble Falls Economic Development Corporation, Mexia Economic Development Corporation, New Braunfels Industrial Development Corporation, Pflugerville Community Development Corporation, Pilot Point Economic Development Corporation, Sugar Land 4A Corporation, Sugar Land 4B Corporation, Sulphur Springs Economic Development Corporation, The Colony Economic Development Corporation, Tomball Economic Development Corporation, Tyler Economic Development Council, Yoakum Economic Development Corporation

    “The TEDC’s Economic Excellence Recognition program is one of the ways in which our organization honors the outstanding commitment to excellence of our communities and regions, their leaders, and their economic development professionals have toward the professionalization of their economic development efforts,” noted Carlton Schwab, President/CEO of the TEDC.”

    The Texas Economic Development Council, established in 1961, is an Austin-based, statewide, non-profit professional association, dedicated to the development of economic and employment opportunities in Texas. The TEDC provides information, educational and legislative services to nearly 850 members. Our objective is to support the economic growth of Texas and develop strategies that promote a positive business climate in the state.

    For more information contact:
    Mr. Carlton Schwab
    Texas Economic Development Council
    (512) 480-8432

    Photo by TEDC
    *Katy Area EDC also received Merit Recognition for the Workforce Excellence Award
Video Gallery
Copyright 2015. All Rights Reserved. Katy Area Economic Development Council© Powered by Community Systems